What does Christ look like? Okay, Mike and I have finally become acclimated back to life in Malawi and I’m ready to start blogging again. Adjusting took some time; for starters our schedules were seven hours off and I have started my full-time position at Saint Andrews International High School.

I am happily teaching secondary English while Mike is busy saving Mary’s Meals money (he’s the finance officer). Teaching in a UK school is difficult for the fact that nothing is the same (except the students, because people are the same everywhere). BUT the jargon, standards, the way exams are administered, the grading process, EVERYTHING is remarkably different, it has been quite draining but is getting significantly better every day.

Next year there will be potentially two English positions opening at the school so we’ll see where God leads and if he wants me to stay at Saint Andrews for the next two years. Prayers for the discernment of God’s will would be much appreciated 🙂

Anyway, onto what I felt compelled to write about.

It is common in Blantyre to see extreme poverty. When I say extreme poverty I mean people who literally don’t have shelter from the elements, who don’t have families to take care of them, or people who are looking out for their best interests.

It’s extremely heartbreaking. Whenever you travel downtown (in a car or not if you’re white…white = money) people are constantly bombarding you with requests for money or food; it’s the most empty feeling in the world.

What I mean is, you can’t possibly help every single person that asks you for something, you try to help as much as you can and you pray for the rest. I have come to the point where I actually cringe when I see someone approaching us.

Okay, I know that the word “cringe” has an extremely negative connotation. I’m not cringing out of disgust, but the word cringe is the only word that I can think of that depicts the severe emotion that occurs within me. If you don’t have to look in the eyes of some of the world’s most needy people, on a daily basis, consider yourself blessed.

I think sometimes we forget that whenever we look at another person we are looking into the eyes of God. When you see someone who is in desperate need, look into their eyes, see the hurt and heartache that they experience on a daily basis you can’t help but feel emotional.

In Blantyre, the Malawians see white people as a way to elevate their needs. In most cases, it is a spot-on stereotype…on average, white people, being expats do tend to have more affluence. But what role are we taking on when people see us? I feel as though we are the embodiment of Christ looking upon his people in extreme despair, clinging onto what little hope they have.

I feel that God is calling all of us to act in place of him, physically, on this earth. Are we showing Christ to others? It’s not always easy. You can’t always help everyone, but is your heart breaking with them? Are you praying for their intentions?

I pray for all those people in the world who experience an area of need whether it be physically or emotionally, may our God fill them up.

 

What does Christ look like?

2 thoughts on “What does Christ look like?

  1. Alex- you mentioned in your post that when you look into the eyes of another person, you’re looking into the eyes of God. That includes when you look into the mirror. Remember what you and Mike are doing in Malawi. You are addressing the basic needs of thousands of children. I can only imagine, and then not very well, the living conditions of the people you mentioned in your post. You can’t help all of them but you are helping so many of them. God’s Blessings & my prayers are with you.
    Roger

Leave a Reply

