David Michael: One Month Update

David1MonthDavid Michael is one whole month today! I can’t believe how fast the time has flown; Mike and I couldn’t be more in love with our lil’ guy. 

Over the last month we’ve had some extreme lows but many more highs. The first two weeks after bringing David home from the hospital were very rough. I felt that at times, Mike was watching a newborn and a 26-year-old baby! I was hurting in places I didn’t know could ache, and felt like I had been ran over by a truck. I sobbed uncontrollably and questioned my ability to be a mother.

On the other hand, I felt so empowered (hormones are a crazy thing…). I was ecstatic about delivering the way I had intended and felt that my desires about the labor were fully advocated for and I watched with a sense of wonderment as my husband transformed into a dedicated daddy. I couldn’t sleep at night (nobody tells you about the adrenaline rush post labor!) and prayed hours upon hours over my new family. I sobbed uncontrollably and praised God for the blessings He has given us. 

This last month has brought the Miller Family such joy. David has changed dramatically since the day we brought him home, though he’s still significantly more tan than either me or my husband…huh

In these past 30 days, David has grown more aware and his bright blue eyes are open much more often. He is beginning to coo and is the nosiest baby I have ever met. He despises waking up no matter what time it is and will grunt and contort his face into the most hysterical expressions. 

He has learned to hold onto objects close to him and is focusing his eyes on objects near him. The poor baby is SO gassy that he wakes himself up due to his flatulence (he gets that from Mike). For the most part we can now distinguish his cries and body language: tired, hungry, wet, or the most obvious…gassy!

David loves his warm bath time and the activity is deemed Mike and baby’s “special time” as is: directly after Mike comes home from work, right before bed, and before Dad heads for work in the morning. Another one of his favorite activities is to lay in front of the heater we bought to keep him warm. Mike and I always joke that the heater is his favorite toy.

I have adored becoming a mother and while there have already been ups paired with downs, I wouldn’t change the time that we’ve spent together growing as a family. I am so thankful for the time God has given us to adjust to our new definition of family and look forward to showing off Baby to the family! 

6 thoughts on “David Michael: One Month Update

  1. Alex,
    I am so happy to hear that all is well with your family. Post partum is crazy though, isn’t it? I was very similar to you; crying, questioning myself, staring at my baby, body issues. But I cam say it gets better with time. Also the fun with your baby is only begining! Remember there is no such thing as a perfect parent, but you will be perfect for your child(ren).

    • Thanks Allison! It’s always refreshing to hear other women experiencing the same thing. Having a child definitely changes EVERY aspect of your life: physically, mentally, spiritually; but as you said, I wouldn’t change it for the world 🙂

Leave a Reply

